Prof Darren Dixon
Darren is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oxford, where he holds the Knowles-Williams Tutorial Fellowship in Organic Chemistry at Wadham College. He has published more than 150 papers and was the recipient of the RSC’s inaugural ‘Catalysis in Organic Chemistry Award’, the ‘2010 AstraZeneca Research Award in Organic Chemistry’ and an EPSRC Leadership Fellowship.
Stacks Image 3862
Prof Martin Smith
Martin holds the Old Members’ Helen Martin Fellowship at University College, Oxford. His research group is interested in all aspects of synthetic chemistry including total synthesis, asymmetric catalysis and the investigation of unusual hydrogen bonds.
Stacks Image 1597


Dr Lara Lourenço Venda
With a Biochemistry background, Lara obtained her DPhil at Oxford researching molecular and cell biology in the context of Parkinson’s disease. She then moved to Imperial College London for postdoctoral research looking at genomics of cardiovascular and metabolic diseases, before joining the SBM CDT team in 2014. Lara is responsible for overall coordination of the programme, including liaising with SBM CDT industrial partners.
Stacks Image 1542


Ms Laura Thomas
Laura joined the SBM CDT team in Feb 2016, and is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the programme. Laura came from an extensive recruitment background, and prior to starting at the SBM CDT also provided administrative support to the Department of Chemistry. She works part time Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.
Stacks Image 13728
Stacks Image 13928
Department of Chemistry
Chemistry Research Laboratory
12 Mansfield Road
Oxford, OX1 3TA
Connect with us: